Do You Use Your Love Language to Practise Self-Love?

You know self-care and self-love is important, however do you use your love language to practise self-love? If not, in this post I am going to share some ideas on how you can! Firstly thought, lets start with the 5 love languages.


The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman

In his book, the 5 Love Languages, Gary Chapman writes –

My conclusion after thirty years of marriage counseling is that there are basically five emotional love languages – five ways that people speak and understand emotional love. In the field of linguistics a language may have numerous dialects or variations. Similarly, within the five basic emotional love languages, there are many dialects or variations….The number of ways to express love within a love language is limited only by one’s imagination. The important thing is to speak the love language of your spouse.

The 5 love languages are words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service and physical touch.


People Have Different Love Languages…

The 5 love languages are self-explanatory, but here’s a brief description of what they mean:

  • Words of Affirmation: Expressing verbal compliments or words of praise and appreciation.
  • Quality Time: Giving someone (or yourself) your undivided, focused attention.
  • Receiving Gifts: Giving gifts is symbol of love and affection.
  • Acts of Service: Completing tasks and/or actions to show your love (e.g. cooking, washing dishes etc.).
  • Physical Touch: Feeling affection through physical touch (e.g. holding hands, sex, kissing and cuddling).


What is Your Primary Love Language?

Interested in finding out what your love language is? You can ask yourself what you most desire in your life or you can just do the 5 Love Languages quiz on the website to find out. Your results will look similar to the following (probably with different weightings for each love language) –

The highest score indicates your primary love language – how you really understand the expressions of love from others. It’s common to have two high scores (the highest score being 12), although one language tends to have a slight edge for most people. The lower scores in your profile indicate those languages you seldom use to communicate love and which probably don’t affect you on an emotional level in your relationships.


How Can Knowing Your Love Language Help You Practise Self-Love?

When you know your own love language, you can start to practise self-love using it. Following are 5 ways you can start practising self-love for each of the 5 different love languages.

I hope this post has given you some insight in to the 5 love languages! Feel free to share your love language below or ask any questions.

If you are ready to reclaim your courage and take the next step towards your freedom and opening your heart, why not join our Toolkit?


Reference –

Chapman, G. (1973). The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts. Chicago, USA: Northfield Publishing.

Leave A Response

* Denotes Required Field